In a Nutshell

I couldn’t have said it better than Dizzy.

I know it must be hard to fathom that a girl doesn’t care what a smart man thinks about the thing that she cares most about in the world, or that there’s a movement that exists that doesn’t much take into consideration what men have to say on the topic. I know I’m supposed to 1) nod thoughtfully as I process your wisdom, asking clarifying questions about your points just in case I don’t immediately understand something you say, and then 2) offer up some powerful and intelligent argument on why feminism is important, and then 3) try to prove my point with examples from women in politics and a few stories about my grandmother, but of course, in the end, 4) concede that yes, you have some very good points that I will certainly think about, and thank you for educating me about feminism and correcting me on those things I didn’t fully understand about women and the world.

This seems an apt topic for a first feminist blog post.

So here’s the deal. I am a radical feminist. I am not interested in your male worldview. Call that sexism or misandry if you like, I really don’t care. I, and all my sisters, have lived our entire lives in your world: this tiny space is my world.

Maybe this pisses you off. Maybe it scares you. Maybe it makes you feel momentarily powerless.

Now you know how we feel most of the time.

And in case that doesn’t explain the situation well enough, try this.

If you still don’t get it, or choose not to accept it, get lost.

~ by theunrelentingrevolutionaryoptimist on August 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

